Press Releases

« back

Lonie Friesen-Tucker Scholarship Winner Announced


The 2004 Lonie (Friesen) Tucker Bible Contest winners were announced in chapel on Friday, February 27, 2004, and the scholarship recipients are:

  • 1. Steve Marquardt $1,000
  • 2. Aaron Blazis $700
  • 3. Elizabeth Morse $500
  • 4. Hillary Cummings $275
  • 5. Matt Williams $225
  • 6. Ahshuwah Hawthorne $200
  • 7. Melanie Fortin $150 and Daniel Ryan $150

The scholarships will be added to the students' accounts fall semester 2004. Every student who participated in the contest received one the following books: the biography of Dr. John G. Mitchell, Lion of God by Dick Bohrer; One Lord, One Faith by Rex Koivisto; or Decision-Making and the Will of God by Garry Friesen.

Returning students have the option of taking a written test concerning Bible questions. The top eight students then compete in an oral final examination in front of the student body. The student who scores highest on the oral and written tests combined, receives the scholarship.

Dr. Garry Friesen once again hosted the public test as Quiz Master.

The William Friesen and Charles Tucker families have established a yearly $1,000 scholarship, and ten smaller awards, for a returning Multnomah student in honor of Lonie (Friesen) Tucker's devoted life to the Lord. Each year a deserving student will receive the scholarship to finish his or her training to do what Lonie did so well her whole life-serve Christ, family, church and community.

Lonie, Dr. Friesen's sister, passed away in 1997-just 19 days after being diagnosed with cancer.