Press Releases

« back

Board of Trustees Names New Chairman


Mr. Verne Davis will succeed Board of Trustees Chairman David K. Fields for the 2003-2004 year. Fields officially stepped down from the top spot at the Board's annual meeting on Monday, May 19, 2003. Fields cited increasing work demands as contributing to his decision. He served as chair since 1995 and will remain on the Board in the capacity of vice chair and oversee the Nominating and Membership Committee.

Other officers appointed at the annual meeting include Mr. Fred Sievers, treasurer and Dr. Richard Palmer, secretary.

In departing remarks to fellow trustees, Fields mentioned several significant institutional achievements during his tenure. "I appreciate our group success over the past eight years," he said, singling out the selection of President Daniel Lockwood, the creation of the Anchor 400 Fund, and the construction of four new campus buildings (Newton Peter Scruggs Married Student Housing, Willard Aldrich Hall, Travis-Lovitt Hall and Goodrick-Spencer Seminary Housing) as key accomplishments.

At dinner that evening, Dr. Lockwood presented Fields with a plaque and a gift of appreciation for his faithful service.